Currently Reading: Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji


I went into this manga not expecting very much based on the premise, but ended up enjoying this quite a bit! Surprisingly good!

Here’s a look at a manga that does a common premise really well, Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji!

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji by Hatta Ayuko

Summary (MangaFox): Erika lied to her friends about having a boyfriend by showing a picture of an anonymous guy who turned out to be a a schoolmate of hers and was shortly recognized by her friends. Their conversations then was overheard by the guy, Sata Kyouya. Erika went to explain and proposed her idea of faking as lovers. However, Sata who gave off the nice-charming feelings guy turns out to be a black prince and used her reasons to blackmail her instead.

Thoughts so far:

This is surprisingly readable. No, really.

For some reason, I ended up getting REALLY into this, and over the course of the hour or so it took me to read up to Chapter 11 (the latest chapter I could find at time of reading), I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next.

Erika is a really likeable character. She doesn’t have a lot of annoying personality traits I find in some other shoujo heroines – she’s just a normal, likeable girl who’s a bit….gullible, I guess. I don’t really understand WHY she likes Kyouya, since he’s a jerk, honestly. (If she ended up with Kyouya’s friend, THAT would have been better :D). At any rate, I completely empathized with her throughout the series, so good job to Hatta-sensei for making such a likeable heroine.

Honestly, this shoujo trend of having the guy the girl likes being a jerk needs to STOP. It gives girls unrealistic expectations, and encourages them to put up with a lot of crap they shouldn’t be putting up with. I don’t think a relationship with a guy who insists on calling the girl he supposedly “likes” a “pet” is a basis for a healthy relationship. There are a lot of manga that do this, and it seriously needs to stop.

That being said, I’ve seen worse than Kyouya in my shoujo manga-reading times. He does show some moments of actual concern for Erika’s well-being, and when he isn’t being a jerk, he’s actually not too bad. I think one of his best qualities is that he doesn’t take advantage of Erika’s situation by sexually harassing her – a quality too common in many other male characters within this shoujo paradigm (too much Philosophy of Science – I’M SORRY.) Anyway, he’s not a character I’ll remember liking more than say…Kazehaya from Kimi ni Todoke, but he satisfies the role he needs to in a less-than-normally objectionably manner. So yay!

I get the feeling that a lot of Erika’s friends are just there without being very interesting; whenever Erika was talking to her friends, I would be completely bored because they just aren’t that interesting. I know the author wants to focus on the main characters, but if the friends are such a major factor in Erika’s initial decisions, at least make them a bit more interesting. Although the girl that Erika went to the beach with was likeable enough, I will admit.

On another note, the dialogue is actually quite good, I ended up laughing a lot. It didn’t feel contrived or predictable, it was just fun to read, so I appreciated that.

The art is quite good as well. The series is well-drawn in general, and it’s cute without being cutesy (there’s a difference). Also, Hatta-sensei draws Erika crying REALLY WELL, LOL. Other than that, there’s nothing much else to say except that I have no complaints with the art.

One final note that I’m almost-sort of ashamed of: I cried halfway through reading this. Yeesh, I am such a sap. I don’t know if my hormones are out of balance or something, but I just started crying at certain parts of the manga for some reason.

Overall, I enjoyed this more than I expected to, and I recommend it!

Rating so far: 8.0/10

