Review – Black Coffee


Well, let’s begin.

Black Coffee by Nakano Emiko

Summary (from Mangafox):

How does a girl (Kurashima Akari) declared by her childhood friend (Sentaro) to be gloomy and anti-social transform into a cutie “as sweet as sugar” and every boy’s dream? And does every boy really dream of girls “as sweet as sugar”? Or is the rich and deep taste of coffee better than sugary glitter? The story of a girl who may not be sweet, but sure is as addictive as black coffee!

Review:

Oh gosh…

It’s not like this manga is painful to read, but come on. I really had to question the judgement of both Akari and Sentaro. First of all WHY does Akari become a pin-up model in the first place? If I wanted to gain the respect of the guy I liked, I would probably choose a….not-so-questionable way of doing it. And if she wants to change her image, SHE CAN JUST DRESS DIFFERENTLY AT SCHOOL. I mean, it’s not that hard.

And then there’s Sentaro. Such an egotistical….ah, I just can’t say. First off, he doesn’t stand up for Akari when no one offers to help her carry different things to the classroom, but LIES and says he’s going to the bathroom AND THEN helps her. If he doesn’t want to associate with her in front of their classmates in fear of being ostracized by them, I wonder what that says about his character? NOTHING GOOD. I do not understand AT ALL why Akari likes this guy. Sure, he sort of overcomes his overall jerkiness character flaws by the end, but it’s only so that he will complete the approved plot structure of the guy ALWAYS ending up with the girl in these kinds of one shots. T_T

And I know people change as they get older, but Sentaro was such a brat as a child…=___=

The art is fine. No complaints, really.

Basically, if you have no other manga to read on a given day, you can read this and not be too scarred by it. If you really don’t care about the motivations of the characters, reading this is fine. But I just can’t look at this and say I want to read it again.

Sad.

Rating: 5.5/10

+ : Somewhat passable art, Sentaro’s redemption of his character (sort of)

– : Questionable character motivations.

